Cool Down Before You Stop!

Has anyone ever followed the 10k for Pink iPhone app? I currently am. While I really enjoy the app and are finding it a great way to build endurance and in the end hopefully I’ll be able to call myself a runner. Right now, I’d say I’m more of a runner when I feel like it or a runner who gives up or says I can’t do it way too easily.

Anyways, the 10k for Pink app always includes a 5 minute walking warm up and a 5 minute walking cool down. I am definitely pumped for the warm up but by the time I finish the actually running part, I find myself not-so-excited to begin the cool down. With an exercise science degree, I know the importance of cooling down but find myself to eager to hit the showers or too eager to move onto my next task for the day or evening. When you are short on time, it seems so easy to just skip the cool down. After all, you did just complete the hard part right? Wrong! Cooling down is important (just keep reminding yourself of that, I know I have to).  Here’s why:

  • Increased risk of injury, Your muscles can tighten up without a cool down.
  • Cooling down helps to regulate blood flow, which brings your body back to its normal state.
  • Is great for mental clarity.
  • Helps with a sense of accomplishment! You’ve completed the entire workout not just most of it!

Whats your advise to those of us who have a long ways to go to consider ourselves runners?

Looking for a challenge? I always am. I’ve decided to go with one challenge a month starting with July 1st. Since, July 1st is right around the corner, it’s time to make a decision.

Here’s what I’m thinking:

What do you think?

Is anyone with me?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Cool Down Before You Stop!

  1. Thanks for mentioning that app! I’m going to check it out. I’m not a runner by any means but I’d like to try and build endurance.
    Also- I rarely ever do squats. It’s so bad, I know. But I feel like I never have the proper form!

  2. I’ve got four days left of the challenge. Stick with it and break squats up into sets and you’ll be fine. My top tip, do leg swings between sets and good luck!

Leave a Reply

