How Do You Run in the Heat?

  • 3 minute jog
  • 90 second walk
  • 5 minute jog
  • 2.4 minute walk
  • 3 minute jog
  • 90 second walk
  • 5 minute jog

Week 4, Day 1 of 10k for Pink Complete!

I’ve been following the 10k for Pink iPhone app in an effort to be able to build up my running ability without injuring myself. It’s a 14 week training program that essentially takes you from couch to 5k then on to a 10k. This is by far the most running in the program thus far. However, it’s going good despite the heat. I do not enjoy running in 85 plus degree weather. I don’t know how those of you in warmer climates do it.

How do those of you how run in warmer climates do it? I’ve tried running at dusk and lately it still has been way too hot and trust me I am not one to wake up at the crack of dawn if I don’t have to.

Upon doing some research, here are some ideas I’ve found that I am definitely going to have to try:

  • Taking a cool shower before running and leaving your hair wet in a bun on your head as you run.
  • Keeping a thin, frozen towel on your neck as you run.
  • Plenty of h2o. Drinking 8 glasses a day along with 8 to 12 ounces 15 minutes prior to running. Drinking 3 to 8 ounces of water for every 15 to 20 minutes run.
2 thoughts on “How Do You Run in the Heat?

  1. Way to go! You’ll rock that 10K in no time! I’m with Alex..the wet bun idea is GENIUS!! I live in Little Rock, Arkansas…so to say it’s humid here is an understatement. I’ve found that running at dusk is best for me, with super light clothing, LOTS of clothing the whole day, and eating a banana or clif shot blok for extra potassium before my run. I sometimes have a problem with my feet cramping if I get too hot or dehydrated, so before a hot run some extra potassium would do you good! You could also hide a water bottle somewhere around the halfway mark of your run πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

