Color Me Rad (and a discount code)

Color Me Rad was my first ever 5k (and definitely won’t be my last). When Heidi from Blogportunity contacted me about this exciting opportunity, I was quick to jump on it! On July 9, 2013, I ran my first Color Me Rad race in Pittsburgh, PA at First Niagara Pavilion and the rush of completing a 5k for the first time was absolutely amazing. I talked about it for the longest time (in fact almost two months later I still do and remember it and how much fun it was on days I am struggling to complete the 10k training program I have been following.

Color_me_rad

 

If you have never heard of Color Me Rad, it’s something you absolutely need to try whether you are a seasoned runner, beginner runner or even a walker. It’s a unique and fun way to get some fitness in. It’s not timed and not competitive, but it definitely is a whole lot of fun. At the Pittsburgh Color Me Rad, there were runners and walkers of all ages and fitness levels. No judgement, just a good time! As you run through the 5k course,the color bomb squad tosses color bombs at you! Your white shirt (along with your pants, shoes, legs, arms, hair, etc…) become tie-dyed as you complete the course (don’t worry it’s easy to get the color out of your shoes, but I strongly recommend wearing clothes you don’t so much care about). A majority of color came out of my clothes, but you also need to keep in mind that I didn’t wash my clothes for a good 8 hours later. Also, I strongly recommend you wear white!

The atmosphere at Color Me Rad was unlike anything I’ve ever seen. Everyone was there to have a good time, I don’t think anyone was there to run top their personal best. The music was great and everyone had a smile on their face. Plus it’s for a good cause, the Pittsburgh race benefited the Ronald McDonald House. The Color Me Rad shirt, tattoo and sunglasses are an added bonus. Plus, I was able to feed my shopping addiction at the Color Me Rad store, where I got some awesome socks and shorts!

I’d highly recommend getting together with a group of your friends and have some fun in the name of fitness! Pittsburgh-ers, the next closest race is in Morgantown, July 7th!

If you act quickly, you can sign up for the Morgantown race or any race across the country. Use code radfun to receive 20 percent off your registration. Keep in mind this…this code is only good until August 1st!

I hope to hear about your Color Me Rad experience soon, so get registered!

*I was not compensated for this review, but I did receive a free race entry. These views simply reflect my opinion of the event!

Leave a Reply

