Why I Quit Team Beachbody

I know this post has the potential to stir up some controversy depending upon who is reading this. However, I do feel the need to share my Team Beachbody experience. 

Three years ago, I had responded to an advertisement on Craigslist for a Health and Wellness Coach. Being someone who was in the middle of completing a Masters degree in Exercise Science and Health Promotion, this seemed like a great idea. It turned out that I had responded to an ad to join a Beachbody coaching team. For anyone not familiar with Beachbody, you also try to recruit new coaches to work under you in addition to recruiting people to buy Beachbody products. I was skeptical. The girl, who had written the ad, quickly friend-ed me on Facebook. At this point, I didn’t sign up. However, I did watch her posts for the next three years. She seemed to have a great thing going for her. She was working from home and able to stay home with her kids. I still didn’t sign up. In fact, at this point I was eagerly looking for a job that I had to go to on a daily basis. After working from home for a few years as a freelance journalist, I was young, wanted to get out of the house and meet people. I still didn’t sign up after many, many contacts with this girl…who seemed very nice, but slightly pushy.

Over the next three years, I did take a job that required I get out of my house, while maintaining a list of freelance writing clients. I did Insanity from time to time. When the 21 day fix came out, I was very excited to give it a try. I just wanted to tone-up and this seemed like a great way to do it. I’ve never been good with portion control! I did tone up and even started to develop some abs. However, I did not use Shakeology while on the 21 day fix. 

After the 21 Day Fix was over, I continued to follow the meal plan loosely. I’m not one to deprive myself of anything. If it’s something I want, I don’t see the harm in moderation. I also continued with the workouts. All along, I had been using a different meal replacement powder as well as a separate protein powder. I liked them. They kept me full and even tasted great — especially when mixed in smoothies. However, I’ll be willing to admit that I was still very intrigued by Shakeology.

When PiYo came out, I made the decision to sign up as a coach. I contacted this girl, who I had essentially be Facebook stalking, for the past three years. I signed up on her team. Honestly, I was excited to be part of a team. I got a pretty good deal on a challenge packet and was ready to go. I had signed up for the discount, but was open-minded to attempting to make some extra money. 

Immediately, I was sent a list of things to do. For example:

  • Get goals.
  • Join a number of different Facebook groups.
  • Tell everyone I know that I am now a Team Beachbody Coach.
  • Read personal development books.
  • Set up my first challenge group.
  • Wear Beachbody clothing.

I’m sure there is more, but you get the point!

This was a lot of work to do for essential free. I understood though. You don’t build a successful business overnight. I was also tossed into a “coach camp” that was run through Facebook. This was supposed to me teach me all of the basics. Honestly, I’m not a huge Facebook user. It was fun in college, but now I swear the people I know who use it on a regular basis are my parents age. I hardly had time for this. Not too mention, I don’t like to be on camera. There were daily assignments. Many of them required filming yourself talking about your Team Beachbody goals and your own personal fitness goals. I’m a writer, I do not enjoy the camera!

The other thing that got me about Beachbody is that they claim it’s not sales. To me, it ended up seeming no different than having a jewelry party or a candle party at your house. I was told repeatedly to reach out to family, friends and co-workers who I think could use my help. This may be inappropriate, but all I could hear in my head was myself saying, “Hey, you are looking like you put on some extra weight. If you pay $140+ , you can shed those unwanted pounds in no time!” I am a very independent 29 year old…I own my own home (I have since I’ve been 25), I don’t use credit cards, I pay my own bills and I enjoy a comfortable lifestyle. I was not about to financially benefit from the fact that I have friends who enjoy way too much McDonalds. 

To avoid reaching out to my family and friends, I started connecting on Instagram with some people I had never met before. Isn’t it odd how I was more comfortable talking to strangers out this than people I actually knew? I had some people seem interested. For most, it just wasn’t in the budget or I never heard from them again after I sent them an e-mail regarding challenge groups or signing up to be a coach. Honestly, I was starting to feel guilty. I felt like a used car salesman or those people who work at the kiosks in the middle of the mall during the holidays, who practically chase you around the mall trying to get you to purchase some lotion that smells terrible.

Side note: I feel the need to talk about Shakeology before I finish my story. Shakeology tasted great. I enjoyed all the flavors. I just did not enjoy the price tag. However, as I continued to use Shakeology, I felt like I started to develop headaches and even a few hives after drinking it. I’ve talked to medical professionals, who advised against me continuing to drink this product. I complied, my health is not worth holding the title of Team Beachbody Coach. Shakeology did leave me feeling full though. However, I feel like I can find a meal replacement that works for me and that costs much less. I know Shakeology fans are going to say there is no better and that’s okay. I’m wanting to hear all of your comments.

Back to my story, I decided to cancel my Beachbody Coach account as well as my Shakeology. This proved to be more challenging than any Beachbody workout I had ever completed. It’s almost a mystery. Beachbody is not very clear on how to cancel your account. When I did finally find the form, no one processed my cancellation. I’ve entered the Team Beachbody live chat many of times and still no cancellation. The 48-72 hour cancellation policy apparently takes much, much longer than this. They seem very reluctant to let me cancel. I’ve threatened the Better Business Bureau, I’ve called my credit card company, called Beachbody and entered the live chat many, many times. Still, I’ve had no results. I’ve been cancelling for two weeks and I can’t seem to get past a video of Beachbody’s CEO telling me not to go.

Buddy, I’ve made up my mind. I’m out. I don’t care what you have to say. I will follow my dreams and I will be successful. I am going to one day have children and I am going to work from home. However, I will not be supporting my family off of my family and friend’s money. All of this has inspired my to become the best possible writer I am can be so that I can have a freelance career and stay at home when the time is right!

 

9 thoughts on “Why I Quit Team Beachbody

  1. Very good post here!! I had this same thing happen to me a couple of years ago. The girl was very nice but very pushy and even told me if I didn’t join her group I’d lose out on all opportunity. But it really is all about sales and yes the programs work but… you’re not really a “health coach.” I am content doing ME and my health/wellness coaching style and not worried that someone is watching me!

  2. I’m glad you posted about this! I was contacted about this a while ago and was a bit skeptical. It seemed a little odd to me, and I had so much trouble even finding information on what it actually meant to be a Beachbody coach!

  3. Great post! I was also approached while finishing my MS in Exercise Science/Health Promotion. I never signed up, but have plenty of friends who have over the last few years. I never did it as I questioned how responsible a company could be if they were recruiting people with zero health/wellness knowledge and experience to *run a business.* I absolutely love health and wellness, but refuse to allow myself or the advice that I give to be boxed in by some marketing gimmick.

  4. I wish I had more info when I joined…I made it Diamond but still was not enough income, I was putting 6 to 7 hours a week, I also thought it was no sales, and after I joined I found it was all about the sales, it’s funny how some coaches were into the “helping others MORE than the money” in their posts, but it was all not true and they wanted the challenge pack sale and they wanted the stars rank….I’m out too. To make it work you NEED high sales and marketing creativity sales strategies.

Leave a comment